Ronaldo - Real Madrid

A Recap Of The FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014 Ceremony: Former Manchester Winger Steals The Show Yet Again

Here are the list of awards that were given away in the FIFA Ballon D’Or awards ceremony that took at Zurich earlier today. Real Madrid ruled the awards night as Cristiano Ronaldo and James Rodriguez won awards in their respective categories while Toni Kroos and Sergio Ramos were included in the FIFPro World XI of the year line-up along with Ronaldo, who won the Ballon d’Or award. 

Ronaldo - Real Madrid
Ronaldo – Real Madrid

FIFA Ballon d’Or Award for the best footballer of the year:

Cristiano Ronaldo successfully defended his Ballon d’Or player of the year award quite convincingly with 37.66% of all votes. Barcelona and Argentina counterpart Lionel Messi came in second with 15.76% of the votes followed by Germany’s Manuel Neuer with 15.72%. Former Manchester United star looked emotional and pumped up when former French International and Arsenal legend Thierry Henry gave him his award.

“I would like to thank all of those who voted for me, my president, my coach and Real Madrid. It has been an unforgettable year. To win this trophy at the end of it is something incredibly unique,” he said after receiving the honours.

Puskas Award for the FIFA Goal of the Year:

Colombian James Rodriguez’s goal in the World Cup Round of 16 match against Uruguay earned him the Puskas Award for the FIFA goal of the year award. James created history by becoming the first Colombian to win an award and also the first Real Madrid player to win the Puskas award. His close competitor Stephanie Roche narrowly missed out on an opportunity to become the first woman to win the Puskas award. Netherlands skipper Robin Van Persie’s flying header against Spain was the third goal that was nominated for this category.

Women’s Player of the Year:

Germany and Wolfsburg midfielder Nadine Kessler was announced as the women’s player of the year as she got the better of Brazilian International Marta and United States’ Abby Wambach. My heart is beating madly at the moment. I don’t think I ever thought in my life I would achieve this moment. Without my team-mates and my coach, this would never have been possible. I have a great degree of gratitude that I must give to my family. They have seen me through all the difficult times,” she said.

FIFA Coach of the Year (Women)

Kessler’s coach at Wolfsburg, Ralf Kellermann was named as women’s football coach of the year after he led his side to successfully defend their Champions League crown. He faced some stiff competition from Japan women’s team coach Norio Sasaki and German women’s Under-20 coach Maren Meinert.

FIFA Coach of the Year (Men):

In the men’s category, it was a close call between World Cup winning German National Football team coach Joachim Loew, Real Madrid’s Carlo Ancelotti and Atletico Madrid’s Diego Simione in which Loew prevailed marginally.

“It is a huge honour after what’s been an incredibly successful year. It’s the icing on the cake – the cake obviously being the World Cup. I’m just taking this award on behalf of everybody who has taken this team to where it is. I would like to thank all the German coaches who do so much good work with the young players. They are all coaches of the year,” Loew said.

Presidential Award

Japanese journalist Hiroshi Kagawa, who covered his 10th World Cup last summer at the age of 89 was awarded the Presidential Award by FIFA president Sepp Blatter for his superlative contribution to football without seeking to the limelight.

Fair Play Award:

Volunteers who worked at the FIFA competitions over the past 12 months were chosen as the FIFA Fair Play awards winners.

FIFPro World XI of the Year:

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Germany/ Bayern Munich)

Defenders: Philipp Lahm (Germany/ Bayern Munich), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), David Luiz (Brazil/Chelsea/Paris Saint-Germain), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid).

Midfielders: Angel Di Maria (Argentina/Real Madrid/Manchester United), Toni Kroos (Germany/ Bayern Munich /Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona).

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/ Bayern Munich).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *